Booting from usb HDD

I would like to boot OSMC from a usb hdd (boot loader on sd, file system on hdd). I’m new to Linux but I reckon I can do what’s needed for this (loud cheers). My question is this: will OSMC updates be able to handle the fact that the FS is on a hdd? Alternatively, is there some noob way to achieve this - assuming Berryboot is off the cards?

Using the installer from the download page gives you the option to select so this is configured for you. After imaging with this selection, simply boot the pi with the sdcard and USB drive connected and everything is installed to USB for you.

Thanks for the fast reply. Good new about the installer. It would be great if you could answer a couple of follow-ups. Will the hdd get wiped during the install? Does the entire hdd have to be formatted as ext4 or can it just be a partition - I need to be able to use the drive on a Mac as well? Assuming all that is possible, will OSMC be able to handle the fact that 2 hdd will be connected to the Pi?
Thanks again for taking the time to reply during what must be a really busy time for you guys.

It will wipe and use the whole hard drive. I think you’ll find that a spinning hard drive will be noticeably slower than a sd card install on a decent sd card. There is really no reason to boot from a hard drive or usb thumb drive any more as the corruption problem was fixed long ago. Of course there is still the possibility of corruption due to improper shutdown or crash but it’s just as likely to happen to a usb drive as to the sd card, There is nothing better than a regular backup routine.

I would just use the external drive for media files.