Cannot see any devices on my network when browsing to add files

Hi, I’m very new to OSMC. I installed OSMC on a Raspberry Pi 2 today. It’s hooked up to my home network (wired) and I have already installed the BBC iPlayer add-on which works great.

However, when I go to add video files and try to browse my network for DLNA servers, I can’t see any devices. I have Serviio set up on a PC on the network that every other device on the network can see, except the OSMC.

The network options I see when trying to browse are:

HDHomerun Devices
Network File System
SAP Streams

Any tips would be appreciated :smile:

You should have more than that - Home folder and Root filesystem at least.
I also see UPNP devices, Video playlists, Windows network (SMB) and Zeroconf browser.
For some of these you may need to set ‘Expert’ under Settings|sevices’ or settings|system
Derek

Sorry Derek, I do also have Home Folder and Root filesystem in the Browse menu - but I only listed the network options because I felt that was pertinent to what I was trying to do.

However, I don’t see UPNP devices, Video playlists, Windows network (SMB) and Zeroconf browser.

I see some of these in Settings>Services in Expert mode. Here I see;
General
UPnP/DLNA
Web server
Remote Control
Zeroconf
AirPlay
SMB Client

In UPnP/DLNA I have enabled “Look for remote UPnP players”

Any further help much appreciated :smile:

Rufus

I’ve given up on this and installed openelec, which worked immediately.

If you still cannot see upnp/dlna server when you browse, then there is probably something wrong in your network setup. A favourite for this is network blocking by router. I can see my serviio server from many devices, but have never remarked it when adding sources for OSMC - but that would be because I mainly use SMB. I have no idea whether logs could help in this case.
Derek