Debugging CEC issues

Hi guys, I’m really new to osmc, kodi and raspberry pi, but I am pretty experienced with linux and media center software in general. I’ve looked all over the osmc wiki, the kodi form and the internet and I can’t really find information I can understand and put to use (I probably just don’t understand how to apply most of the advice…). I’ve tried looking through ~/.kodi/temp/kodi.log and some other files to figure out what’s going on. I’ve tried to use cec-client to listen for things and I’m not getting anything meaningful out of it.

The Setup:

I have a raspberry pi 3 with osmc installed on it. I also put some other stuff on there, libcec, plex server (unrelated hopefully), ffmpeg (compiled from source, also hopefully unrelated), and all their dependencies (and probably a few more packages… I wasn’t super diligent about keeping track). I have a NAS hosting some shares which are NFS mounted to the pi. The pi is connected to an Onkyo HT RC360 (that link doesn’t make it obvious but the manuals say it supports HDMI-CEC, which is connected to an LG TV. All connected with compatible HDMI Cables.

The Problem:

I can’t use my Onkyo remote with my osmc

Request:

I don’t expect anyone to say, “gosh I think this is your problem”. I’d really like to figure out where to look and what to try to solve the problem and hopefully learn more about everything in the process. Like I said above, I’ve run the cec-client to try to see if anything is coming through but it always spits out the same thing, which seems to say that the cec-client is running find and not receiving any information. The kodi log never says anything pertinent (I did turn on debug logging).

I’ve installed libcec on the pi, but I don’t even know if kodi is using it and listening for cec commands. I don’t know if cec commands are getting to the pi.

Any help on what to try or where to look would be greatly appreciated.