How to control separate channels in digital ouput? (RPI and Vero)

Hello,

First of all thanks a lot for this awesome open source project. I have been using OSMC for a few years and now I ran into a problem.

I have got a RPI (the first one, model B). The thing is that I bought a new TV with a soundbar, and they are connected through HDMI, and controlling everything from the TV remote is just fantastic, integration between devices is just magnificent.

Now my problem is that in films I hear voices really dim, I really find this annoying. But sadly and after reading about this, it seems that the problem is mostly how sound in movies is mixed.

The solution seems pretty simple though. Since in digital audio dialog and voices come from the central channel, I just need to make it louder.

Now if I check alsamixer in the OSMC from my RPI there is only one channel (PCM). I tested with another card I use in linux (Aureon HD 8.0), and now his one shows all channels available, 7.1 in this case. But now the problem is that optical output doesn’t work with soundbar for some reason. OSMC shows the output SPDIF for this card but I get no sound from that port.

Even if that worked I would like to use HDMI output for the sound. This way I would still be able to manage everything from the same remote.

Which leads me to the next question. Will a hardware with a better soundcard solve my problem, I’m thinking in a Vero 4K, will alsamixer allow me to manage channels separately and this will have effect on the HDMI output?

So as a summary and as the title says, I’m looking for a way to manage the volume of every channel for the digital output.

Is this even possible?

Thanks for the help.

I think the ‘Boost Centre Channel on Downmix’ option will do what you want. This can be configured in Settings → Audio.

Thanks for your answer. Downmixing is sort of a workaround, but some comments: