MP4 playback performance

I’m new to OSMC and have been impressed by what it can do.
I had an issue last night on a PI 2 playing a MP4 videa (I have both the MPEG2 and VC1 codec licenses installed).
The video took ages to buffer initially. OSMC reported “cache full” at the bottom of the screen then started playback. Playback would frequently pause and buffer for periods of time to the point it became impossible to watch.
Playback of other video types had no issue.
The source was via uPNP ( I still need to try using kernel NFS client).

Any ideas?

Sounds like you’ve already come up with the best idea on your own, NFS…

A critical piece of information has been left out - is the connection to your server entirely Ethernet or is there wifi involved at either end ?

Using wifi.
Though the other formats didn’t have an issue over wifi.
I eventually went to play back the video from another device which managed fine.
I would expect the occasional hiccup over wireless but this was more than just that.

Different videos formats and different individual files will have different bitrates - if the bitrate is higher than what the wifi connection can sustain it will buffer. If it is lower than that it will not buffer. It’s as simple as that really.

The first thing I would do is test the problematic files over an Ethernet connection to confirm that Wifi is the issue.

Assuming it is you would need to do some wireless troubleshooting to find out why the wifi connection is too slow.

Press O during playback to bring up the codec info page - this will tell you what the average bitrate of the video is.

Also let us know your model of wifi adaptor and how far it is from your base station and what sort of base station it is.

Will do. Thanks.
I’m using an EDIMAX wifi adapter which is about 15cm from the AP.
AP is a trendnet 150Mb wireless N, though it’s attached to a 100Mb Ethernet cable.

So can you find a 15cm Ethernet cable to test with? :wink: