New TV Vero 4k+ turning off after TV senses adjusts ULTRA HDR deep colour

Hi,

Just upgraded my TV from an old Samsung JU6800 55" 4k to a 65" LG SK9500.

Initially Vero 4k+ seemed happy but when I went to play first 4k movie TV popped up a message ‘To provide an optimised picture quality, the ULTRA HDR deep colour will be turned on…’ you can on say Ok. After which the Vero shuts down. If I pull power and replug it boots then turns off.

It’s clearly local to the port as if I move to HDMI 2 or 3 I can get back to menus… although I suspect the same will happen if I try to watch anything.

Please any ideas, I’m new to LG so a bit clueless

Cheers
Dan

Ok I found how to turn it off on HDMI and the picture comes back instantly.

Should HDR ultra deep colour work? Is there a combo or setting on Vero I should set to support it?

Thanks
Dan

Try turning on Settings > System > Display > Force 422 colour sampling.

That’s needed for some LG TVs.

1 Like

Thank you for the tip.

Update.

So the issue is on 4k HDR content only so far, tried some 1080p TV and movie content with no issues (although not HDR to my knowledge). What happens is as the 4k HDR starts the LG switches which works but if I exit back to Plex or stop movie it fails to switch back and shows a black screen the Vero is still on/working just no signal. If I turn HDR off on HDMI picture back.

I tried the setting mentioned and the issue remains.

Any ideas :slight_smile: ?

Cheers
Dan

You are using Plex? Does this happen if you try without Plex?

Debug logs would help at this point:

To get a better understanding of the problem you are experiencing we need more information from you. The best way to get this information is for you to upload logs that demonstrate your problem. You can learn more about how to submit a useful support request here.

Depending on the used skin you have to set the settings-level to standard or higher, in summary:

• enable debug logging at settings->system->logging