Newbie Help - Vero 4K+ and Drobo server

Hi,

I am a newbie to the Vero 4K+ and much of the discussion here goes over my head. In purchasing the Vero product I was not aware that it would be as technical an item to connect as it is. I have been trying to connect the Vero to my Drobo server. Have used a WDTV box for years and it was very user intuitive. The Vero is less but that is probably me. Would very much like to get it up and operating. Any help would be appreciated.

It is difficult to help you with the little bit of information you have provided. You didn’t even state how your trying to connect to your Drobo or what model you have to try to infer. Perhaps these two wiki articles would be a good place for you to start.

https://kodi.wiki/view/Quick_start_guide

https://kodi.wiki/view/Adding_video_sources

Hi. I have a Drobo FS. The Vero 4K+ seems to have installed properly. It has found and is connected to the network but does not seem to show any computers or servers on the network. I click on the Video icon which takes me to the page to find the source of the videos. That is where I hit a road block.

I would guess your issue is likely because your connecting via SMBv3 which does not support browsing in that way. You can probably either choose a non-recommended fix by going to settings>services>SMB client> and set both min and max to SMBv1. Alternatively you could add the source manually specifying ip address/computer name and credentials.

I’m confident we can get you up and you’ll be happy with the product, but it might take a little bit of work to get you up and running, which we are of course happy to provide.

My suspicion is that the Drobo hasn’t received an update for a while and only implements SMBv1. Browsing for SMB is somewhat deprecated by Microsoft for security reasons.

Sam

Hi Sam,

I am confident also. I have no issues with the product; only with my knowledge in this area. Sorry if am difficult.

Rob