No video signal detected after OSMC system update

Hi everyone,
I am totally new to OSMC but used Kodi for several years. Today I got my Vero 4k+ and was really thrilled to test it out… so I played a little with the Kodi settings, installed two video plugins and everything worked like a charm. Well, then I decided to do an OSMC system update, installed all updates and then, no signal detected, red permanent LED lighted up (in front of the Vero 4k+). So far I have no clue what to do.

Here is what I did exactly:

• Unboxed the Vero 4k+
  • Inserted microSD
  • inserted USB Receiver for the remote
  • Plugged in sound
  • Used the provided HDMI cable to connect Vero 4k+ to my LG Beamer
  • Plugged in power

Voila - OSMC booted, I processed the initial setup and after that adjusted a few Kodi settings, checked that SSH is enabled, set language, adjusted some OSMC skin settings and installed MediathekView Video Plugin as well as Plex Video Plugin. Both worked out of the box.
I then decided to check for system updates of OSMC (system info mentioned version 2020-11-xx to be installed) and detected updates to be available. So I processed update installation which succeeded with 100% BUT after that, screen went black, no signal detected, the red LED in front of the Vero 4k+ stayed lighted up in red permanently. After a few minutes I removed power plug, tried different HDMI cable, nothing. When power plug is inserted, you can see a tiny red light at the rear part of the device next to the digital audio out, so the device itself still got power (or at least it looks like that).

As mentioned before I’m a total noob with OSMC so far and honestly as well with Linux. Please advise what might be the issue and what I can do to resolve the issue as this is a rather frustrating start. Many thx for your assistance!

Hi

Sorry to hear this.
The first thing to try would be to reinstall OSMC. See Reinstalling OSMC - Vero 4K - OSMC (and ignore the toothpick method advice).

Sam

1 Like