OSMC BlueZ package and missing gatttools

Hi everybody

I have been enjoying OSMC for two years now, and use it as a base OS for Domoticz.

With PI3 I started using the integrated Bluetooth, playing with Parrot Flower, Bluetooth beacons, and now Xiaomi Mi flora.

I noticed the gatttools are missing from the installed BlueZ packages.

Is there a “safe and easy” way to add them without impairing OSMC stability ?

Or should I reinstall the full 5.43 last release BlueZ package ?

Thanks a lot !

Hi

The source for BlueZ can be found in our Git repo.

Is ‘gattools’ part of Bluez, or an external package? I suspect you can install them manually from Debian’s repositories.

Sam

Hi,

Thanks for the (so quick) answer.

Yes the gatttool I’m refering to (tools to manage bluetooth) is part of Bluez, and usually installed with it.
Don’t think there is a stand lone package I could use just for the tools.
There is at least another gattool in the repo for “analysis of genomic structural variation”, not relevant here.

As I understand it, the version number of the Bluez OSMC package was artificially set to be higher than any current version of Bluez to maintain OSMC dependencies ?
But it prevents from keeping it up to date (current would be bluez-5.43).

Would be useful for recent bluetooth Low Energy devices better managed with later releases.

Already tried to remove the Bluez package trying to recompile it and upgrade it ,
but I chocked on the armv7-network-osmc end libglib2 dependency part.

I will have a look at the Bluez source in repo, even if I’m afraid it’s too much for my current skills

Thanks anyway

Hello

Yes – it is updated so that the OSMC version superseded installations of BlueZ.

My understanding is that Pi does not implement BT Low Energy yet, so future versions won’t necessarily be beneficial.