OSMC - Pi(B)- SD Card Dies

I have OSMC on multiple Pi’s and I seem to be killing the SD cards.
I have been using it for a couple of years (Raspbmc first then OSMC)

So “Does setting the “zerocache” cause premature SD Card death?”

Thanks for all the support -
Jim Pope
Denver

what exactly do you mean with ‘killing’?

• Can you access still the FAT partition (mmcblk0p1) on any Linux or Windows computer?
  • if yes, can you mount -ro or fchk.ext4 /dev/mmcblk0p2 on Linux?
  • if no to the above, can you reformat and reapply the OSMC/raspbian image to the same SDCard?

A bit background of my questions:
My Pi1 B rev2 also trashes the SDCard aprx. all 3 months, mostly because I cut the power because of deadlocks. SDCard is affected aprx. each 3rd power cut.
My Pi1 B+ only trashed the SDCard once - after the only power cut ever (after a deadlock after kodi update in july).
My Pi2 B never trashed the SDCard until now, even after ~10 power cuts
… in all cases, my SDCards have not been killed, but the ext4 filesystem was extremely corrupted. No worth the repair (automatic Kodi backup each week to a cifs share), so I reinstalled all.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s surely annoying. But at least there is nothing damaged.

BR,
Laser Man

By 'Killing" I mean that I go to use the Pi, and the screen is frozen, or blank.
and the Pi will not boot.

I have been using the “zerocache” option to move the buffering from memory to
the SD card, and I am wondering if I am writing the card to death,

I have not looked at the cards, I have been tossing them and buying a new one.

I do not know linux very well, so I do not move beyond step-by-step instructions provided
by others.

Thanks,
Jim Pope
Denver

So you didn’t try reimaging any of these cards with the OSMC installer to see if it was just corruption ?

Also what brand of cards were they ? There is a big variation in quality between a good card and a cheap no name one, so if you’re always using really cheap ones that is not going to help.