[Solved] No HDMI display after clean install

Hello,

I am totally new to OSMC on my Pi2 and I tried a clean (1 empty FAT32 partition on the card) install on a 16GB SDHC card today using the installer recommended for Windows (I’m running W8). The installation on the SD card went very well.
However when I started the Pi2 (with the SD card inside of course) I had no display at all (I am using a video projector and I don’t have any other screen than I could use).
The Pi2 does not answer to ping but I can SSH myself on it with the OSMC account (but I don’t really know what I should be looking for).
I tried this with the 2 most recent releases (2015.10 and 2015.08).

I hope one of you will be able to help me while I also try to see what’s wrong on my side…

Thanks !

There is nothing in OSMC to block pings so that doesn’t make sense.

If you can log in with SSH, then please run the following commands and post their output, they will give information on what your projector is reporting in the way of available modes:

tvservice -s
tvservice -m CEA
tvservice -m DMT

Is it actually an HDMI projector or are you using an HDMI to DVI cable ?

Thank you for the quick answer !
Just tested again for the ping, I can now ping it, it pings computers on my local network but nothing outside (like 8.8.8.8 for example).

It is actually and HDMI projector that works well with the HDMI output of my laptop.

tvservice -s
state 0x40001 [NTSC 4:3], 720x480 @ 60.00Hz, interlaced

tvservice -m CEA
Group CEA has 0 modes:

tvservice -m DMT
Group DMThas 0 modes:

Your Pi does not think anything is connected to the HDMI port, so it is defaulting to putting out an NTSC analogue signal on the analogue port. (RCA connector on an old Pi, one pin on the 4 pin audio connector on newer Pi’s)

Did you power on the projector and let it start up before powering on the Pi ? If so, do you have another HDMI cable you can try as a test ?