Accessing SMB share: "File exists" / "Operation not permitted" errors

Hi,

I received my Vero 4K+ today and just hooked it up.
I have been using Kodi for many years now, so I’m quite familiar with most of the stuff.
For some reason, I can’t access my samba shares with the Vero.

When adding a source like smb://MYSERVER/tvshows, I get a “File exists” error and am unable to access the share.
I can find and browse the shares through zeroconf, but trying to add a directory results in an “Operation not permitted” error.

I tried adding some shares “forcibly” by adding entries to the sources.xml and passwords.xml files, but I still can’t access them.

What does work is adding those shares to /etc/fstab and mounting them, but I’m synchronizing all my Kodi instances through a MySQL-DB and the file paths stored in there are all referencing the samba share.
So using local mount points is not really an option for me.

Sebastian

Hi,

What are you using a Samba server: a Nas, router, Winders Server or Linux Server?

What samba versions does the Samba server support?

Whats the entry, will probably help configuring local shares.

Thanks Tom.

Since mounting works via /etc/fstab but not in Kodi, this sounds like an SMB version problem. You can edit ~osmc/.kodi/.smb/smb.conf to set the same version as you used on the fstab mount.

You can also use path substitution so that any time Kodi tries to access smb://MYSERVER/tvshows it will be redirected to /mnt/tvshows.

I turned on debugging in Kodi and get this when trying to access a SMB share:

20:14:29.808 T:4077986384   DEBUG: OnKey: 11 (0x0b, obc244) pressed, action is Select
20:14:29.841 T:3794383616   ERROR: SMBDirectory->GetDirectory: Unable to open directory : 'smb://USERNAME:PASSWORD@MYSERVER/TVShows'
                                            unix_err:'1' error : 'Operation not permitted'

and this:

20:15:11.265 T:4077986384   DEBUG: OnKey: 11 (0x0b, obc244) pressed, action is Select