April update has broken argus pvr

Hi there, newbie here. Running OSMC on RPi3 using the ArgusTV PVR addon - been working for some time on kodi 17. Today, I applied the April update and now kodi crashes on startup with a sad face. The RPi itself does not crash, just kodi. Deleting the Addons27.db allows kodi to start. Adding the ArgusTV PVR addon immediately makes it crash again.

I have uploaded the logs here: https://paste.osmc.tv/ibipetumaf

The error appears to be due to the wrong version of the ArgusTV addon:

May 03 20:59:49 osmc mediacenter[3181]: /usr/lib/kodi/kodi.bin: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib/kodi/addons/pvr.argustv/pvr.argustv.so.2.5.4: undefined symbol: _ZN4Json5ValueixEi

I thought that the krypton build of the addon should be 2.5.5 rather than 2.5.4 but I might be wrong.

In my ignorance, I’m not sure whether this is an OSMC issue or something wrong in the relevant kodi release?

I’m hoping that I don’t have to re-install an older version of OSMC from scratch but I don’t know of any way of downgrading to the version before the update.

Thanks for any help!

Exactly the same problem for me.

https://paste.osmc.tv/pajumujulu

I just installed krypton onto an Ubuntu 16.04 VM and then installed kodi-pvr-argustv. I got this:

Setting up kodi-pvr-argustv (2.5.4-3~xenial) ...

The kodi log shows:

NOTICE: Starting Kodi (17.1 Git:20170320-nogitfound). Platform: Linux x86 64-bit

So it looks like krypton is still supplying 2.5.4 for Kodi 17.1

As to the actual error, they can be very difficult to debug. The undefined symbol _ZN4Json5ValueixEi can be found in the library as undefined, meaning that it tries to find it in another library at run time. Where it should be and why it’s not finding it are the key questions.