Auto Contrast / Auto Dim Issue

Hi guys
I know this is my first post here but I am having the strangest problem.
I have been running OSMC on my Raspberry Pi 2 for a few years now and have never had this problem until I got myself a new Sony VPL-DX102 projector a couple of weeks ago.
When watching content downloaded off the internet and through Kodi on a Raspberry Pi, I notice that on darker sequences, the image is auto shifting contrast or is dimming or brightening up depending on the image on screen. Its particularly clear on most of the latest episodes of Game of Thrones and the likes, but on other content as well. The same content when played back through VLC on a laptop following the same signal path as the Raspberry Pi using the same HDMI cables has no problem. Even more strangely, the problem doesnt happen on my Panasonic C10 television which is connected to the same AVR using a HDMI splitter.

Here’s my current config

• Denon 1612 AVR

• Inputs

• Rasberry Pi with Kodi 16.1
      • PS3
      • Set-top Box
    • Outputs

• Panasonic C10 Television
      • Sony VPL-DX102 Projector

Since the AVR has just one HDMI out, I have a splitter between them that splits the one to two HDMI’s for the projector and the television.

Now for the interesting bits.

• Cannot see any contrast shifts on the television from any source
  • Cannot see contrast shifts on projector from any other source other than Kodi (raspberry pi 2)
  • Tested by watching the multiple different content sources from tv shows to movies through the Pi and then disconnecting the cable and connecting the same HDMI to a Microsoft Surface Pro 2 and viewing the same content through VLC. No contrast shift on television. Contrast shift on the projector.

There are no settings on the projector that are controlling this. If there was, it should have happened on other sources as well.
Cant find any settings on Kodi either that can do this. Surprising its not happening on the television.
I am totally lost.