Connecting 3G usb dongle/modem to osmc on raspberry pi

Hello Everyone,

Im balaji,
Im new to osmc. I have been trying to connect my zte 3G usb modem to my raspberry pi 3 running osmc. after sometime researching on the internet i found a way to do it. i tired to post it on the HOW TO forum list but i couldnt. so Im posting it here . hope this helps someone. ( and pardon my english :stuck_out_tongue: )

• things you will need
  1. raspberry pi with osmc installed

2. a 3g usb dongle ( no need to worry about make or model)

3. sakis3g package and umtskeeper package for connecting the dongle to internet
    link : https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B9Nr1nZkJmj3ZHZIMWI2X3lQSjg

4. winscp for viewing files in your osmc
    *procedure

5. Putty for ssh

• open ssh and type sudo apt-get update

• type sudo apt-get install usb-utils

• type sudo apt-get install ppp

*type sudo apt-get install bzip2

• type sudo apt-get install usb-modeswitch

• connect your modem to the usb port of pi

• type lsusb

• now the list of attached usb devices will be displayed

• find your modem and its ID ā€¦ the id will look like 19( Ex. 19d2:0016)

• note down the ID

1. open winscp and login into your raspberry pi using username and password ( just like SSH)

2. navigate to /home/osmc

3. create a file named modem

4. move the downloaded sakis3g and umtskeeper files from your computer to the modem folder ( /home/osmc/modem)

5. now Open PUTTY and login into your pi

6. type cd /home/osmc/modem

7. type tar -xkvf sakis3g.tar.gz

8. type tar -xkvf umtskeeper.tar.gz

9. type chmod +x sakis3g

10. type chmod +x umtskeeper

11. type sudo visudo

12. in that window go to the bottom and type osmc ALL = NOPASSWD: /home/osmc/modem/sakis3g

13. in the next line type ALL = NOPASSWD: /home/osmc/modem/umtskeeper

14. save and exit

15. type sudo nano /etc/sakis3g.conf

16 in that window type

USBDRIVER=ā€œoptionā€
#USBINTERFACE=ā€œ3ā€
APN=ā€œyourapnā€
APN_USER=ā€œuserā€
APN_PASS=ā€œuserā€