Connecting to eduroam (WPA2 enterprise) or use university VPN

Hi everyone,

I know that WPA2 enterprise is not officially supported by OSMC, and will not be for a while, but I live in a university campus and I don’t have my own WiFi network.

I’ve seen that someone apparently manage to get eduroam to work with OSMC, but I’m struggling. Here is what I’ve tried:

I’ve created via ssh the file /var/lib/connman/wifi_eduroam.config, and I’ve written the following in it:

[service_eduroam]
Type=wifi
Name=eduroam
EAP=peap
CACertFile=/etc/ssl/certs/ca-bundle.crt
Phase2=MSCHAPV2
Identity=<username>
Passphrase=<password>

I rebooted OSMC, but I still can’t connect to eduroam. I know that I’m missing something, but I’m completely new to OSMC, and feeling a bit lost. Anyone has an idea?

Alternatively, my university (Oxford) has a network to which one can connect via the uni VPN (Cisco): http://help.it.ox.ac.uk/network/wireless/services/owl/vpn/index
I have no idea if it’s possible to do that with OSMC, but if it is any suggestion is welcome!

My very last possibility to connect my Pi 3 to internet would be “The Cloud”, an open WiFi hostpot (https://www.thecloud.net/), but this requires signing up in a browser and I’m not sure how I could bypass this step.

Many thanks in advance!

connmanctl might have some information about this.

Try adjusting your config slightly.

[service_eduroam]
Type = wifi
Name = eduroamwifi
SSID = eduroam
EAP = peap
Phase2 = MSCHAPV2
Identity = emailaddress
Passphrase = password

Also remember your Identity should be your full email, not username.

1 Like

You can also use command line approach, i.e. ConnMan - ArchWiki which should work for you and create the service.

Many thanks! That’s very helpful. I will try to modify the config as you suggested. Could you explain to me how I could connect to a WPA2 enterprise password with the command line approach you pointed out? Many thanks in advance!

It’s in the link above