Controlling TV volume with OSMC remote

I assume the OSMC remote’s volume buttons are supposed to be able to control the TV’s volume over CEC. But when I press the volume buttons on the remote, only the internal volume changes (the one that is on 0.0 by default). Could this be some kind of handshake problem between the TV and the Vero?
FYI: Controlling the Vero with the TV remote does work, so CEC is at least working in this direction.

Logs

A CEC volume control will target the audio device in the HDMI chain - ie a receiver or soundbar. In my limited experience a TV doesn’t pretend to be an audio device so what you are expecting won’t work.

But I’m no expert.

1 Like

Okay, thanks for the clarification.
So if I would connect a soundbar with ARC capabilities to the TV’s HDMI (ARC) port, should the OSMC remote be able to control the soundbar’s volume?

Like this:
Vero → HDMI → TV ← HDMI (ARC) ← Soundbar

I think it does work like that on my Panasonic TV with ARC to my Yamaha AVR. I don’t use that configuration much.

I just tested it and can confirm that this works.

Is it possible to use some kind of IR profile to control the TV’s volume with the OSMC remote?
My Apple TV remote does that. When the Apple TV detects the soundbar, it uses CEC to control the volume of the soundbar. When the soundbar is not connected, the Apple TV switches to controlling the TV via IR.

The Apple remotes have IR built into them, the OSMC remote does not. The OSMC remote basically presents itself the same as a keyboard would so any kind of special signaling would have to be implemented with some sort of custom IR blaster setup and I’m not even sure how one would get started if they wanted to head down that path.