Cron Scheduler

Is there a way to use the cron scheduler available in the app store to trigger an OSMC backup? I know I can do a manual backup or a backup before updates etc. But what script/command is triggered when you click “back up” or when OSMC checks for updates?

After loosing two SD cards on the same day, I would like to setup a automated backup of OSMC keeping only a few recent copies on an external USB key.

While you’re waiting for a response, you might find exactly what you’re looking for in the official Kodi repository. There is an amazing addon called “Backup” in the “Programs” section that has many more advanced features than the built-in backup utility found in “MyOSMC”. One of those features is a timed backup that can run with cron scheduling. You can, of course, also use it to restore a previous backup. I myself have it set to backup my install very late at night every day. I’ve been using it for over three years and it’s saved my backside quite a few times.

yes I know there is one but I thought osmc’s backup was different so never bothered trying it. I would rather use something that is built in if i can, but will try the addon on my test kodi install on my PC.

Can someone explain the difference between the two? If they provide the same function I may start using the one in the kodi repo, since it isn’t platform depended.

Built-in software seems to relay a feeling of comfort to the end-user. Just ask the masses responsible for making Internet Explorer the second most used Windows browser in a software landscape spoiled for choice of better alternatives. However, to my knowledge, the backup utility found in “MyOSMC” functions no differently than the “Backup” Addon. You’ll of course want to wait for confirmation from a developer, but in the end, files is files and Kodi is Kodi. In fact, if you wanted to backup your install data by hand, without any utility at all, you could just simply copy the “.Kodi” folder to another location.