Easter Update - RC?

Just saw the blog post and proceeded to update. I noticed that the splash screen still says RC. Was the splash screen just not updated or is this really a Release Candidate?

Kodi haven’t released 18.2 yet, but this OSMC release is based on 18.2 as it stands today.

That’s correct.

Kodi v18.1 had a number of issues, so we have based the release on Kodi v18.2 RC1 which we expect to be released as a stable build in the very near future.

It’s been thoroughly tested, so this is just a cosmetic issue. We didn’t see the point in patching the release version to 18.2.

Sam

3 Likes

Hi there, my Vero 4K+ has just updated to kodi 18.2 RC1 and now I can’t change for any of the skins. Am I missing something? I’m a total noob, so sorry for the question.

Thanks Sam. I keep the OSMC running in my office on the nightlies for testing, but like to keep the rest in the house on a family-friendly (read: wife-friendly) stable release. :slight_smile: Just wanted to make sure.

You will only be able to install skins that are compatible with Kodi v18.
You should be able to check with the skin developer to see if a compatible version of the skin you wish to use is available

Sam

When will the disk images be available for download?

But aren’t the ones on he interface menu, compatible?

I’ll wait a couple of days for some feedback to come through and will then build the disk images when we’re happy with the release.

For now you can install the 2018.12-1 release and update via My OSMC to get the latest version if you are just installing OSMC now.

Sam

Skins available via the Kodi repository will be compatible.
If you have added custom repositories then there is not necessarily a guarantee that they will be compatible.

When I try to download a skin from the interface menu or from the repository it says the depency on xbmc.gui version 5.12.0 could no be satisfied…

5.12.0 is the XBMC GUI version mandated by Kodi v18.