Encoding for OSMC on Pi

I’ve been using OSMC on a Raspberry Pi for several years and am generally very happy.

Historically I have used Handbrake to encode content from my DVD’s. I have always selected the “Burn in” option for subtitles, but I’m now wondering if my OSMC setup will allow me to select from available subtitles? I have read that HandBrake will include “Soft Subtitles”. This means the subtitles will appear as separate selectable tracks in encoded output file.

Will my setup allow this feature? I’m running OSMC/Kodi 18.9 (compiled on 2020-11-26) on a Raspberry Pi 3B. Thanks…RDK

Of course it is supported, including respecting the forced flag. In Handbrake if you have the subs selected and you don’t check the burn-in checkbox the subs you select will be included in the file in its original vob format. Those subs will be imaged based so they a fixed in how they look though. You can also grab text based subs during playback that give you a bit more control over how they look. Both can coexist for the same file and Kodi allows you to select which you want to view.

https://kodi.wiki/view/Subtitles

@darwindesign Super, I’ll give a try with my next encoding session. Thanks…RDK

OK, that works with Handbrake and also from the OSMC interface on the Pi monitor using the remote control. Thanks, has made my wife very happy.

However, I have not figured out how to select/change audio or subtitles when using the Web interface. Can you help?..RDK45

It depends on which web interface your using. I don’t see an easy way to do it in Chorus2 but Arch has both options on the bottom bar under three vertical dots next to the stop button. This is a question that would be better suited to the Kodi forum in the section for the web interface your using.

Hmmm. When I look at the web interface and interface setting it says Estuary and neither Chorus2 nor Arch are options. What should I do?..RDK45