EPGs (Schedules Direct and Zap2it)

Is there a guide somewhere that explains (in simple terms) how to install and use an EPG such as Zap2it or Schedules Direct with OSMC?

I’ve found a couple of threads, and some info on the Kodi and TVheadend sites, but didn’t know how much is current and what actually works seamlessly with OSMC.

Thanks in advance!

I’m no expert, but I use NextPVR on a Windows 10 “server” and use Schedules Direct with NextPVR. Schedules Direct accounts are cheap and there is really nothing to do but open the account and supply your credentials to NextPVR.

I suspect from your question that you’re using TVheadend, and I’m sure that’s different. I’ve never used that.

Thank you, Tom. I will give this a shot! It’s a bit more complex than I expected for what is likely a common need… hopefully it will work.

Does anyone know if there is a Schedules Direct solution to do this on the Raspberry Pi 3?

FrogFan, you are correct–I’m using a RPi 3. Sorry for not making that clear at the beginning.

Sorry kwc01, it was I who was not clear. I’m running OSMC on an RPi 3. I’ve installed the NextPVR addon in OSMC. I run NextPVR on a Windows 10 machine, where my TV cards are installed, and where I store videos and recorded TV. I access my content via fstab based samba share mounts.

I’m not sure how your architecture compares to mine. My point was that Schedules Direct plays very nicely with NextPVR.

Edited to correct typo.

TV GRABBER CONFIGURATION FOR SCHEDULES DIRECT

1. Switch to the hts account
    sudo -u hts /bin/bash

2. Run the tv_grab_na_dd and follow prompts
    tv_grab_na_dd --configure

TVHEADEND CONFIGURATION FROM WEB BROWSER
http://tvheadend_ip:9981/

CONFIGURING SCHEDULES DIRECT EPG GRABBER

1. Navigate to Configuration > Channel/EPG > EPG Grabber Modules
  2. Select Internal: XMLTV: North America (Direct Data)
  3. Check Enabled
  4. Click the Save button