exFAT drive partition not shared with Samba

Hardware: Raspberry Pi 3 model B

OSMC version: 2019.10-1 running Kodi 18.4

(sharing with Windows 7 and Windows 10 PCs)

I have done a lot of searching and can’t find any mention of anyone else suffering from this problem…

I have a problem with a Samba share from an exFAT drive.
Other drives/folders attached to the pi are accessible from my other computers, it is only this exFAT drive that is the problem.

I have installed samba from the OSMC app store.

Only the EFI partition of the drive is automounted in Samba, not the main partition with all the actual files.

The main partition is mounted and the files read fine from Kodi/OSMC, it is just not being shared via Samba.

I have tried to manually add the drive to /etc/samba/smb-shares.conf using the automount template:

browseable = yes

read only = no

valid users = osmc

path = media/billymedia

comment = exFAT videos drive

This didn’t work either.

(I have not edited the original smb.conf file)

I had previously set up a samba share through apt-get, and mounted through fstab, but this was causing the pi to fail to boot when the drive wasn’t connected, so I deleted the lines from fstab. Could this be causing some kind of conflict in my shares?

Any ideas? I would be very grateful for some help, I am very much a novice at Linux….

Does the drive show up in /media automatically?
Are you sure you haven’t changed the default Samba configuration?

Sam

Thanks for the quick response.
Yes, the drive shows up in /media automatically

Can you try on a default install with a new SD card as a quick test?

Suggest to remove /etc/samba/smb-shares.conf then reboot.
Also post your smb.conf via paste-log /etc/samba/smb.conf and share the URL
Last install smbutils sudo apt-get install smbutils and run smbutils -L localhost and show output

Thanks!

smb.conf URL:
[https://paste.osmc.tv/ikuvapudud]