Failing to install OSMC on USB stick (Pi3)

Hi all,

I’m a newbie to RPi, Linux and OSMC and need some help to install OSMC !

Here what I want to do : install OSMC on my RPi3 to get a homemade multimedia server and then install Nextcloud on OSMC to get a home cloud in the same time. As I’ve read that SD Cards don’t last very long I’d like to install OSMC filesystem on a USB stick.
I bought a 4TB USB Stick (Seagate BarraCuda) and have formated it in GPT with 2 ext4 partitions (20G dedicated to the OS and Nextcloud and 3.6T dedicated to my media files). My SD Card is a 16Gb class 10 included with the RPi pack I bought.

After many many hours failing at doing this and seeking answers in many forums I request here your help !

What I did :

• installed first raspbian and formated my USB stick as mentioned above
  • formated my SD Card with SD Card Formatter on Windows
  • downloaded the OSMC installer for Windows
  • Ran the install program, chose the install on USB stick and wireless connection. Everything seems ok here.
  • Boot the SD Card on my Pi, everything seems ok since I get that message on the screen : “Install failed : can’t mount root”
    Here is the install.log :

Thu Jan 1 00:00:07 1970 Starting OSMC installer
Thu Jan 1 00:00:14 1970 Detecting device we are running on
Thu Jan 1 00:00:14 1970 Mounting boot filesystem
Thu Jan 1 00:00:14 1970 Trying to mount to MNT_BOOT (/mnt/boot)
Thu Jan 1 00:00:14 1970 Using device->boot: /dev/mmcblk0p1 and FS: fat32
Thu Jan 1 00:00:14 1970 Preseed file found, will attempt to parse
Thu Jan 1 00:00:14 1970 Found a definition for storage: usb
Thu Jan 1 00:01:21 1970 Creating root partition
Thu Jan 1 00:01:21 1970 From a root partition of /dev/sda1, I have deduced a base device of /dev/sda
Thu Jan 1 00:01:21 1970 Must mklabel as root fs is on another device
Thu Jan 1 00:01:21 1970 Going to mklabel with device: /dev/sda with a label type of MSDOS