Field Report: OSMC Alpha 4 on RaspberryPi Model 2 B vs. Model B

I’ve been using Raspbmc for about two years, and I ordered a Model 2 B as soon as I heard about them. I was hoping more RAM and processor power would lead to better video performance. I unboxed it Wednesday night and got into the setup process. Switched to Confluence skin right away because the OSMC skin was slowing me down.

I decided to start using the 2 B with an episode of a television series that I had been watching on the Model B (with Raspbmc) earlier. It did not play, hung up with the timer at 8 seconds in. Tried something else on the NAS drive, and it played properly. Tried a third series, that didn’t play either. Okay, what about that 1080p movie that the B wouldn’t play? The 2 B played that properly.

Then I installed OSMC on a card for the B. Went back to that first episode, and it played straight away. Then I checked the other things that the 2 B would not play, and the B is fine with all of them. I’m rather surprised, and confused.

What should I be doing next?

Had some problems with some 1080p files not playing on my raspberry 2. Sometimes they would play after a reboot, sometimes not. Checked the logfiles and they among other things said it was out of memory when running the 1080p files. Then I set “gpu_mem=320” in config.txt and so far 2 days in all files have played without problems.

I think I can do that with the custom overclocking settings. Certainly worth a try. Thanks.

So not in overclocking settings, but I have made my way to the config.txt and tried that edit. I’ve rebooted, and I’ll see how it goes.

No change. Still not playing my test file. Here’s the edits I made to config.txt, do I need to just get rid of the gpu_mem_256 and 512 lines and replace both of them with gpu_mem=320?

sdram_freq=400
core_freq=375
over_voltage=0
force_turbo=0
over_voltage_sdram=0
arm_freq=850
initial_turbo=0
start_x=1
disable_overscan=1
gpu_mem_256=320
gpu_mem_512=320
hdmi_ignore_cec_init=1