For Those Considering a Vero

I have been hacking HTPCs/consoles/etc for 20 years and I’ve tried just about everything. I have always been partial to xbmc/Kodi, but with the rise of cloud drives and such, a client/server model made more sense and so my Veros collected dust for a few months while I had a go at Plex on the Pi and AppleTV.

I am now back on the Vero (a 4k in the living room and a 2 in the bedroom). After using the Pi/AppleTV exclusively I noticed that the picture quality on the Veros is far superior. Whatever you-all are doing, you’re doing it better than the Pi–which is understandable given it’s price–but also at least as good and, in my opinion, better than a 4th-gen AppleTV. It is actually so much better that my wife commented un-prompted that the TV suddenly looks much better.

I got a Harmony remote to put the stereo, projector, etc. all under one remote (and to get rid of the awful AppleTV remote) but found myself keeping the Vero remote out of the drawer. You can feel the position with your fingers, the buttons give haptic feedback (in the form of an old-fashion click), it’s fast and it does not require line-of-site.

These days I’m too busy with kids and work and whatnot to spend weekends compiling from source to get everything just the way I like it, but I don’t think I could do better than OSMC (which I’m using with Emby now). Resurrecting the Veros was as easy as using rsync to restore the ~/.kodi folder.

The Veros also play nice with all my HDMI devices. The projector, in particular, is incredibly picky about the order in which devices are powered on and inputs are selected, but the Vero always manages to negotiate a connection. Even the AppleTV fails miserably at HDMI negotiation. The Vero also doesn’t steal inputs!