Force internet access through 1 of 2 connections

Hi. I am using both wired and wireless network connections and both of them have access to the internet. My idea is that the wired connection accesses my NAS library, while wireless should be used for IPTV. However, I can see that my IPTV is using wired internet access and not wireless as I would like it to do.

My question is - how do I specify from which adapter Vero should be accessing the internet? I would like to keep both connections, so disabling one of the adapters is not an option.

Thanks!

You could probably statically assign the ip addresses but remove the gateway from the connection you want to use for the NAS, I think this will likely do what you want, maybe remove the DNS server for this connection too

I found a discussion from 2018 about this that seems to imply you have to have two addresses on different subnets, but I’ve never tried it before. Take a look here:

It’s kind of the opposite from what you’re trying to do (they were trying to do Ethernet for internet and Wifi for internal only), but it might get you further along at least.

Might be a overkill, but if you are going with two NICs with internet, wouldn’t Linux Network Namespaces be a more flexibel and dynamic solution, instead of segmenting the network, or hard coded routes in the routing table.

Right now it’s just the NAS vs IPTV, next it’s the VPN for traffic generated by app1 vs media streams from communal media-server via “zeropoint”-network

I mean there are often multi solutions for this kind of problem, but I do believe that learning NS-networking is good knowledge.

Thanks for the suggestion.