Futureproofing: mount new HD under /mnt or /media?

I’m a linux newbie so apologies if I get my terms wrong…

I’ve been using the Vero 4K+ for a few months now and am super-impressed. Problem is it’s got me ambitious :slight_smile: I’ve hoping to move to a shared mysql database and share my files around the house - music (MP3/FLAC) more so than video (1080p or less). I’ve read every HowTo & Wiki that I can!

First step in that process is a new external Hard Drive (extHD). My new extHD arrived this morning and I’ve formatted it to ext4. I’m currently transferring my media files from the old ntfs extHD to the new ext4 extHD using the osmc USB hub (it’s taking a while!)

I already have the Samba server/sharing turned on and it’s working. E.g., my Win10 computer can see the new extHD. Unfortunately, the Win10 computer has to stay in the mix for a year or two.

My (very limited) understanding is that if I give the new extHD (ext4) a unique ‘label’ name (e.g. Kodi2020) and automount it under /media, all the other computers/devices on my network can ‘see’ it. Assuming I get the mysql database working, that’s good enough for me at the moment. Any additional 4k+/kodi boxes will connect over wi-fi but all my content is 1080p or less…

TBH, I’m a bit confused about mounting things under /mount or /media. Is there any advantage in going down the /mnt route or is /media ok since my media is 1080p or less. That’s unlikely to change in the next year.

/mnt or /media? My timeframe is a year or two out.

Hope that made sense!

TIA :slight_smile: