Help with Raspberry Pi2 please

Hi all

I am very new to the world of Raspberry Pi and set it up a couple of months ago mainly to run Kodi on.

I was running fine using Kodi 15.2 on Raspbian on my Pi2 and had installed a build running multiple add ons.

Recently though all of the add ons are not working correctly and anything I try to stream fails. Having trawled a few websites over the last 48 hrs I think this could be due to not having Kodi 16 (Jarvis).

So I visited the kodi download page to see how to upgrade 15.2 to 16 but have read on there that Raspbian does not support v.16.

Unless I am being completely stupid (which is possible!) it looks like my only option is to install a new OS and it looks like OSMC is my best option.

I have a spare SD card that I can install OSMC on to. But to be honest I have no idea what I should do next. Does anyone have an idiots guide on how to go about it correctly?

I would really appreciate any help that you can give me on this. If I am being stupid and there is an easy fix to get my current set up working again please tell me.

Thanks in advance.

James

I don’t see why Raspbian couldn’t support Kodi 16, I guess it might just not be pre-built and hosted in the repository yet. If you wait long enough then it may make an appearance.

Do you use the Pi for anything other than Kodi? Or anything that couldn’t be set up again on a different OS? My preference would probably be to try and make the switch to OSMC and use that instead, avoid ‘builds’ as they can contain all sorts of bloat. There are some things that OSMC can’t currently do so if having a desktop environment or a web browser is important ot you then OSMC might not be right for you just yet, these may come in time but they are not there currently.

Who is your internet service provider? They may have just started blocking the sites you are streaming from. BT and Sky do this for sure.