How do I mount Windows network shares in OSMC?

New user here and total noob on the OSMC platform.

Had a Raspberry Pi with XBMC, it worked great. Until it stopped working :smile:

Now I have a Raspberry Pi B+ with OSMC. I’m trying to add Windows network shares that used to work in XBMC but whenever I select Browse>Network File system (NFS) in OSMC it thinks for a second or two and then nothing.

Explain it to me as if I were a five year old - how do I add allready shared folders from a network connected Windows 7x64 computer? I have tried the Raspberry both on cable and wifi but still the same. In XBMC I could just browse through all the units on the network.

The Windows share is rachable from several other devices such as my Xbox, Flex media player on iPad, my Smart TV, other PCs on the network (both wired and wifi) etc. so the share works just fine.

Sorry if this is a stupid question. I tried to search the forums and google it but I just ended up with like a millon files needing editing and thought it should be as easy in OSMC as in XBMC.

Sorry if this is a stupid ‘answer’, but is it NFS rather than the windows default of SMB? Searching for an NFS share would give no result if you just did a standard Windows share.
If it really is NFS, then try adding the path manually.
BTW the topic says mount - is that what you are really wanting to do, rather than just set of a source path (which is what you queried).
Derek

1 Like

That was a great answer :slight_smile: NFS is the only option given in the Video Browse section of OSMC, but I guess SMB is what I was really after. And by mount I mean… Well I don’t know what I mean, I just wrote it due to so many people using the word on the internetz and these forums :slight_smile: You are correct, I just want to set a source path to my network share and hopefully the OSMC device will remember it after reboot :smile: