How to get Wireless usb adapter to work as an AP (TL-WN725N ver.2)

Hi

I’m new to osmc.Tried using this as an AP on osmc but didn’t work. Any solution to this?

Error message when trying to enable tethering on osmc : “Error enabling hotspot - see log for details”

Wireless Usb Adapter : (TL-WN725N ver.2)

Thanks in advance.

I have done it on my Linux computer with that same adaptor by replacing hostapd with a custom version (that is all I did)

A quick search shows people doing it on the Pi also

https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=91&t=54946

Extra note here is a great shell script front end to configure everything and start a AP GitHub - oblique/create_ap: [NOT MAINTAINED] This script creates a NATed or Bridged WiFi Access Point.

Thanks for the reply. Just tried this :

Got no errors but the AP only appeared once and disappeared while the system is still on. The wireless adapter is still blinking though. Any clues of what went wrong?

I’m not sure, I have never had troubles with that adaptor mine just works.

i see. well just got it to work but it’s stuck in “obtaining IP” for android devices. Laptop works fine. Anyway thanks, at least it works but it has to be configured using the terminal and not through the GUI. Will try the other links.

I have had similar problems. Originally, this was fixed by:

It worked fine until the most recent update - now I am back to my android phone not being able to connect, or connecting and immediately disconnecting :frowning:

Should also add that only selected wifi adapters support tethering (and not the most common one). I am not sure about TL-WN725N. I asked about particular models in this post, and was told that you need a chipset that’s supported by the nl80211 driver and supports the AP mode. There are some links in that post that might help you find out about your particular dongle.