How to make Wake On Lan work

After using OSMC for more than a year I finally got something I can’t figure out…

I use this configuration:

• Raspberry Pi 3B
  • OSMC March 2018.03-2
  • Samsung TV UE32EH5300

The Pi is connected to the TV using HDMI cable, and is connected with a wire to the network.
It has a static ip-address.

Now I want to set it up for Wake On Lan. I am a noob with networks and WOL, so please bear with me.

I go to settings in Kodi and I have the option only to setup a timer, of any length I choose, OR “off”.

I choose say, 5 minutes.

After 5 minutes, sure enough the Pi goes to sleep.

I use “Kodi Remote” an iPhone App, it offers a “Wake on Lan” option. The Kodi shows as “offline” and I select it and choose the WOL option. It says command send, but nothing happens.

The TV shows “no signal source” and I try different buttons on the remote, just to be sure. Switch HDMI channel in hopes the HDMI might trigger something.

Nothing works. I finally try to ping the device from my computer; not working either. I googled and found a freeware program to “wake up” computers using WOL. I enter IP address, MAC Address and click the magic button, this doesn’t work either.

I looked at the Wiki pages (https://kodi.wiki/view/Wake_on_lan) and noticed a “wakeonlan.xml” for userdata. You can enter your MAC address in it, and IP address. I decided to give that a go. I restarted after adding the xml and tried all things again.

Not working.

The device goes to sleep ok, it just never wakes up. Any ideas for me ?

Sidenote; I saw a screenshot of Kodi settings (Oct. 2017 I think) it offered way more options on the “Energy Saving” page. I only have 2 options: timer and if I want to wake up servers (??) …

Unfortunately, WOL relies on having a BIOS that is listening for the magic packet on the network interface. AFAIK, the Raspberry Pi does not have such a BIOS - and, unlike “normal” PCs, its network interface chip is connected over the USB bus.