How to pull state of tv via CEC

Evening,

I just installed OSMC on my pi 4 and I have been reading up on things that I want to do with it. Before, I had a pi2 my dad set up with OSMC from quite a few years ago but never used it for anything but backlight control for my TV so I am a noob when it comes to OSMC/Kodi.

My pi is supposed to be always on running docker services and being used to turn on/off the tv with this.

Being always on, I don’t want to keep any playback running if I turn off the TV (or the TV turns itself off via timer) so I googled for a way to stop playback. I did find the setting in system > input > peripherals in this thread but it didn’t work as intended.

Reading further in said thread I found mention of /sys/class/amhdmitx which sounded like something I could use but I can’t find this on my pi at all. Looking through this forum the best I could find was this but that obviously wasn’t helpful. Google didn’t help any also, 2018 this was the way, and any later there is no mention of it anymore, or what succeeded it.

I looked through /sys/class myself and found some hdmi stuff in /sys/class/drm/card1-HDMI-A-1/ but only status did anything useful at all and that only gave me connected and disconnected as output. edid and modes gave me output, but I can’t see a way to use those to detect if my TV is on or in standby mode with those.

Ideally, I would like to find some hook to query the tv state that doesn’t break cec control via tv remote and then use that to stop playback (and maybe set kodi to the main screen so I don’t have to back out whichever menu I was in when I turn the tv on).

This hook seemed to be amhdmitx but what succeeded it?

amhdmitx refers to AMLogic HDMI TX. You’ll only find this interface on AMLogic based SoC devices, such as Vero.

Then what do I do on a pi to check the status of the connected device ( and how the hell did I find posts of ppl having this on pis via google)?

It can’t exist on Pi.