Install Any VPN, including Windscribe

I know there are numerous mentions of “install VPN” in the General Discussion, Help and Support and How To sub forums. I have read most of them. I also tried the “Brian Hornsby” method. However, I cannot get past this common error as reported by a fair number of community users: “An error has occurred whilst trying to connect OpenVPN. Unable to connect to OpenVPN management interface.”
Admittedly, I am not an advanced user. My skills are limited to some familiarity with Linux commands, SSH functions and a general ability to read and follow a set of instructions. I am a 69-year-old retired accountant who has used computers since the days of paper tape and punch cards. I am an “early adopter” of technology products and love futzing around with PCs and networking gear. But after days of reading and trying to get my Windscribe VPN credentials properly installed and working using the OpenVPN program addon on my Vero 4k, I have to wave the white flag and beg for help.
While I know the advanced users in this community do provide very wonderful help to us less experienced users, I and many others seem to get tripped up by the slightest lack of technical knowledge when attempting to follow a given set of instructions. “You installed the VPN server; you needed to install the client. SSH the file to the directory with your config settings, edit out the spaces and you’re good to go.” might just as well be: “Fire up your cold fusion reactor and teleport to the dark side of Kuiper Asteroid Belt.”
Any help that a kind user can provide to me would be greatly appreciated. A successful set of instructions accompanied by helpful answers to my dumb follow-up questions which then leads to my precious Vero 4k connecting to the internet through my paid-for VPN provider will be greeted with a generous donation to your beer fund or charity of your choice.

Hi,

If you happy working with the commandline:

This should help: