Install python3 and pandas on raspberry pi 3

Hi,

I am having troubles installing python3 and pandas on my raspberry 3 with the latest Kodi, as I want to do some data crawling with the most of the time unused MediaCenter setup. I am a noob concerning linux, so please be patient with me :slight_smile: I already googled a lot, but nothing worked so far. Here’s what i tried:

1)Installing pandas via pip (didnt work, some missing dependency)
2) Using these commands Scientific Python for Raspberry Pi – Geoff Boeing (didnt work, unmet dependcy, see snipped below)
3) Then I read here in this forum, that apt-get upgrade is bad because it messes up the system, so I formatted my SD card again and tried just plain sudo apt-get update, sudo apt-get install python3 (worked) and then sudo apt-get install python-pandas (same error as above for step 2)

Can someone give me hint :slight_smile:
I am pretty lost

Best regards,
Stephan

osmc@osmc:~$ sudo apt-get install python-pandas
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
or been moved out of Incoming.
The following information may help to resolve the situation:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
 python-pandas : Depends: python-pandas-lib (>= 0.19.2-5.1) but it is not installable
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.

I played with this a little, and without to much digging it looks like the pandas package is badly broken. I’d suggest you contact the pandas developers for help on this.

I did try this on Linux Mint, and

sudo apt install python3-pandas

does work. It looks like the problem is that python3-pandas-lib is missing in the debian repositories for ARM.

found this debian package: python3-pandas-lib