IR remote with Pi DAC+ configuration

Hi,

If I’m honest I think I’m trying to run before I walk but I think I’m missing something so I’ll explain as much as I can.
As you can tell I’m very new to the pi3. And intend on using it as a audio source and media player.

I’ve downloaded the pre configured OSMC image from IQaudios website just before Christmas (I tried myself to configure but couldn’t get it too work) and the DAC works for audio only to listen to music and when viewing a film, can be used with the tv only with a work round i found on here by using different players to separate there usages.

Luckily my Sony TV has a bravia sync feature which when the pi is connected on the HDMI, the TV remote can control it however, I want to be able to move the pi to different TVs around the house.

I’ve soldered an IR tsop4838 on the pi DAC+ and from Gordon’s helpful PDF this uses GPIO 25 as an input but I can’t alter this in the settings as it only goes up to 24.

I’ve learned how to SSH into the pi (basic) but lack the experience obviously! Im assuming I need to learn the remote I’m using as its not listed (which is an old sky+ remote but that’s not set in stone) with irrecord but because the input isn’t right, it won’t see the remote I’m using! Do I need another Linux distro to alter the config file or can this be done within OSMC?

Any help pointing me in the right direction would be great. I’m just sorta stuck in a loop search the net for answers and not getting anywhere due to the lack of experience with the Linux OS.

I’m on the latest software and up to date.

Cheers

You can edit /boot/config.txt or configure in My OSMC.

I think that some DACs use GPIO18 which is what the LIRC GPIO receiver overlay uses by default.

So set it to 24, look at /boot/config.txt, and edit the line accordingly.

Maybe this is something we need to adjust in a future update. Let me know when you get it working first.