Is there an event log i can check?

My vero 4k has been very unreliable after may update. Once every few hours it will totally freeze and either take minutes to respond or I’ll have to climb behind my tv equipment since there’s no other way to power cycle it. Where can i find information on what’s actually happening here?

I’m a newbie with the Vero 4k but my understanding is that you grab the logs and then upload them for people to see.
First, you need to SSH into OSMC
Then issue the two commands below:
grab-logs -A
dmesg | paste-log

Finally, provide the URLs you get back from each command.

Hi

Sorry to hear things aren’t working as expected.
Anything recently changed in your setup? New add-on; newly attached peripherals or relocation of the device?

Cheers

Sam

It’s really much simpler than this. The MyOSMC addon has log upload built in. But in order to get the most verbose output, debug logging must be enabled in Kodi. You will also want to reboot the device after making that change. It’s all explained quite well in the wiki

If at all possible i’d really rather avoid uploading info from my personal devices.

I don’t think so other than the may update, actually i did install one update a few weeks prior, the one that updates the library? I could try disabling that.

Than analyse the logs yourself grab-logs -P -A; good luck

1 Like

The logs aren’t retained for a long time, and personal information (such as usernames and passwords) are not usually uploaded in logs.

I have a similar issue with my Vero 4K+.
It is randomly crashing every few days while playing MP3s.
I enabled logging in the GUI so I could get some help in this forum.

Newbie question:
If I reboot, is it going to overwrite the log data relevant to the crash?

Or does the log data survive a reboot?
If so, I’ll turn it on, disable logging, and then use the log uploader.

Thanks for any suggestions.
Richard

Yes and no, the Kodi logs (the GUI) will be preserved one reboot in the kodi.old.log.