Matrix-keypad

Hi, I would like to use a matrix keypad (4x4) to control osmc (browse menus, start movies, stop and pause them, etc). According to this page,

Raspberry Pi – Subjektive Wahrnehmung (I edited, the url has changed, this one shows all raspberry post on the blog, gpio-keys is there too)

there is a way to use a driver instead of polling row and columns with a code. As I have a raspberry pi zero, cpu usage is important.

I noticed that gpio-keys is already present in osmc but it could be interresting to use matrix-keypad driver for those who need more keys (less gpio pin used this way, 8 for 16 keys).

Is there a way to add matrix-keypad module, I can ssh and do it via command line if needed but I am new to this overlay thing.

thanks

The instructions you linked to says to run sudo modinfo matrix-keypad to find out if the driver is installed. Did you do that? When I try it on mine it seems to be already installed…

osmc@kodi_cave:~$ sudo modinfo matrix-keypad
filename:       /lib/modules/4.19.122-1-osmc/kernel/drivers/input/keyboard/matrix_keypad.ko
alias:          platform:matrix-keypad
license:        GPL v2
description:    GPIO Driven Matrix Keypad Driver
author:         Marek Vasut <marek.vasut@gmail.com>
srcversion:     DD9CE2D3AB1816B2A6662F0
alias:          of:N*T*Cgpio-matrix-keypadC*
alias:          of:N*T*Cgpio-matrix-keypad
depends:        matrix-keymap
intree:         Y
name:           matrix_keypad
vermagic:       4.19.122-1-osmc SMP preempt mod_unload modversions ARMv7 p2v8

thanks for the reply,

this is the first thing I did to see if it was available, maybe it has to do with the kernel version. do you have a pi zero too or you have another model?

I checked with my RPi 3b+. I don’t own a zero, and I got rid of all my original RPi’s years ago.

ok, I just updated my osmc just to be sure and no luck, from sudo modinfo matrix-keypad I got this.

Last login: Wed May 13 19:54:13 EDT 2020 on ttyAMA0