Mode not supported error message on TV

I’m a newb and am having a good time tinkering with OSMC. My problem is that I’m getting an error message on two different displays that I plug into. Both say a variant of “Mode not supported”. The message comes from the display and/or TV, it is not an OSMC message. At one point, I searched and found a thread on this forum that mentioned this:

“Followed the suggestion, and redid sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade && sudo reboot. Picture came back. Thanks!”

That caused something to update with the dist-upgrade part and then everything worked for a reboot or two. I can get SSH access, but I’m at a loss as to what to try next. I have also tried a new HDMI cable, but that didn’t help.

To get a better understanding of the problem you are experiencing we need more information from you. The best way to get this information is for you to upload logs that demonstrate your problem. You can learn more about how to submit a useful support request here.

Thanks for your understanding. We hope that we can help you get up and running again shortly.

1 Like

Ok, here goes.

The problem: I recently bought a Raspberry Pi 3 Model B. I used the Noobs tool to load up the OS for OSMC. It worked fine then. As part of the setup tool, I updated OSMC and that is when the issue first appeared. It may not be related to those steps, but I keep getting “mode not supported” from any display I plug into the HDMI. I have tried new power supplies and different HDMI cables.

What I was doing: After a reboot, the issue occured. Once, I was able to run the commands mentioned in my post above, but it only solved the problem temporarily. I’m not back to “mode not supported”

Can I replicate the issue: Yup. I’m stuck and cannot get a display. I can SSH in though.

Device: Raspberry Pi 3 Model B

Peripherals: A USB wireless keyboard and the HDMI monitor/tv. Both HDMI devices have the same ‘mode not supported’ message.