MyOSMC update fails with Add-on error

Tried to upload logs but get a warning exceeding size.

Any thoughts?

Try a dist upgrade via the command line.

Sam

Thanks Sam

How is this performed?

Lea

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

Brilliant, seemed to have worked.

Tried MyOSMC manual update (just to see) and receive ‘Insufficient space for Update to proceed…’. Howver I’m running a 8GB SD card and Kodi reports only 30% is used.

Sorry, I’m not good at the Linux stuff!

On which partition? Your /boot is probably full. sudo apt-get autoremove will get you some space page.

Sam

Ran the autoremove command several times. Can I read the SD card with Windows and tidy somehow?

No, Windows would only see the small (250M) boot partition. The root partition can only be mounted on a Linux or MAC.

That means it is not old kernels taking up free space. We still don’t know which partition is full, it would be good to know.

Sam

Thanks for your help Sam.

According to Kodi…

/dev/root 4.6G available
/dev/mmcblk0p1 15M available /boot

Does this help?
15M isn’t a lot no matter what!

OK, so now what exactly are the contents of /boot?

Unfortunately you’re dealing with a non-linux type so I have no idea, or even how to read the contents - hence asking how to read the partition with Windows…

If someone would show me the ropes (I can get into command prompt) that would be greatly appreciated.

I also wonder why this has occurred, several colleagues are also suffering this issue and use the PI 2/OSMC in a very similar manor - no stored media, just streaming.

I suspect the’ cache’ is full as the OSMC update fails as it hits the cache…

Your help is appreciated.
Lea

Post the output of ls -lah /boot

And probably of:
df -h