Name of USB HDD shown in OSMC (automount, disk label, hfs, udev)

Hi there and at first a happy New Year 2016!

I am pretty new to the whole Linux stuff and really do not have to much of a clue about it so i thought i’d better ask someone with more insight and hope to find an answer to the following question:

I have an external hdd connected to my rasp pi 2 running OSMC. The drive is HFS+ (as I am aware of the read-only topic, it is formatted as not journaled so everything works quiet fine) and it automatically shows up / mounts as follows under /media:
osmc@osmc:/media$ ls 5e929917-f55d-3582-b1d6-97efdd2338b2 EFI README

Obviously the HDD shows up with its UUID and I am asking myself if it is possible to get the name of the PARTLABEL shown instead of the UUID which would be much nicer and easier to remember.

How could this be done? Any hints?

I’ve no longer included the HDD into the /etc/fstab as strange things were happening on my previous attempts (settings previously done were gone, hang on reboot, home directory no longer shown, hdd shows only EFI section and other things i really did not appreciate).

There are so many totally different hints on google on how to implement an HDD to etc/fstab that i really do not know on how to do it properly. Among others so far I tried the following:

UUID=5e929917-f55d-3582-b1d6-97efdd2338b2 /mnt hfsplus nofail,defaults 0 0
and
UUID=5e929917-f55d-3582-b1d6-97efdd2338b2 /mnt hfsplus force,rw,default 0 0

Could someone maybe help on the /etc/fstab topic and (to me even more important) on the partlabel / UUID shows?

Thanks in advance,
hi2hello

Why are you using HFS+? As I understand it this is a proprietary Apple protocol so is the work of the devil :stuck_out_tongue:
ext4 more suitable?

Why did I knew this would be the first question? :wink: