New Vero 4k newbie

Ok so never used a kodi box before total newbie.
all i want to do is stream my video ,music ,pictures from my windows 10 pc through the vero 4k .
up until this time i used my sony blu ray player and servio worked very well ect some of the audio types are not supported hence the vero 4k purchase
all plugged in inc network cable but im lost as where to find my windows shared folders using the vero.
please advise.:blush:

Ok it’s unfortunately not anymore straightforward as due to security concerns (Wanna Cry) SMB browsing has been disabled. You have three options:

1. Activate smb1 under settings - services - SMB Client. Then you should be able to browse for your PC

2. Add your PC manually via the Add Host option choosing SMB and use syntax smb:\IP Adress\Share

3. Add your PC via Fstab

ok cant see smb client i am in services ?

sorry ive no idea where fstab or any of the other settings are ,like i said im a total newbie.
i need a step by step im afraid.
thanks for the help

There is a step by step tutorial, you just need to use the search button in top-right area :wink:: Configuring fstab based Samba share mounts

1 Like

Change Settings level to Advanced.

1 Like

ok found the advanced settings and the smb client .
ive put my workgroup computer name in the box and changed the protocol version to SMBv1 now what ?

Now you should find your PC when you go to eg Videos / Files / Add Videos / Browse /Windows Network (SMB)

mmmm no cant .ok got to go out will sit and have a play later.
i must admit i thought i would be able to just plug and play kind of thing with this vero 4k .
just to play my video files .im guessing maybe ive jumped in without realising
ok im sure you very helpful chaps will help me along .
much appreciated…:blush:

Unfortunately because of SMB security problems, mounting shares isn’t as easy as it used to be.

It’s the same for all devices that have security fixes though; so not unique to the Vero 4K