Newbie to OSMC and Vero 4K+ first impressions

Hello,

I’m a total newbie to OSMC and Vero 4K+, and I’ve been using both for some weeks now. What should I say? That’s an awesome project and hardware. Really, really impressed so far. There are some annoying wrinkles though, but no real showstoppers.

• The Vero is attached to an LG 4K TV, and the resolution is set to 4k as well. No need to set it lower, despite what some users recommended. Using the TV’s remote to control the Vero via HDMI-CEC works too, once enabled in the TV. That was hugely impressing!
  • Network is a 5 GHz Wifi LAN. Sometimes the Vero 4K+ forgets the complex LAN password on reboot, and re-entering it on the screen is an utter royal pain. BUT, rebooting a few times seems to resolve the issue by itself… until it pops up again. In other words: the LAN password must still be stored somewhere. Weird.
  • I’m playing MKVs (h265) created with HandBrake from an HTTP-Server on the LAN. HD-Content is played without any visible buffering or stuttering, but I didn’t have any 4K media files yet to throw at the Vero 4K+. Very positive experience so far with all media files.
  • One stumbling block was that IPv6 was disabled in OSMC, and my HTTP-Server has only an IPv6 address. Thanks to advice on this forum, I was able to turn it on from the command line with connmanctl, (don’t forget sudo), using config wifi* --ipv6 auto on the right interface. If it works, it gets a public IPv6 address, and everything works just fine, even across reboots. Still, sometimes, on reboot, I don’t get an IPv6 address on the Vero, but rebooting (a few times) resolves the issue. Again: weird.

o What I’m still trying to figure out, is how to mount a USB HDD enclosure, with an HDD that is formatted with VeraCrypt and that contains either an ext4 or an exfat filesystem. I’ve installed the package zulumount-cli which may or may not help, but I still have to figure out how to use it, and how to persist the passphrase(s).