No access to NAS, ever

Hi there!

I have installed a NAS, a Synology DS224+. It’s my first NAS, and I’m not very good at computer-things.
My old eGreat mediaplayer, I managed to get working with both my computer AND my NAS, but my Vero4K, that’s another story. It works just fine with my computer, and with the latest update I got the sound back as well. It “went missing” for a little while, but works fine now.
The NAS, however, I just can’t get access to. I can find it via SMB, and with NFS, but I keep getting “operation not permitted”. Why is that, and how do I “get permit”?

Henrik

You might check the NFS permissions on the shared folder of the NAS. It might be that NFS is installed but didn’t add this to the shared folders

Below an example of my settings, i also use autofs.

I’ve permitted everything I possibly can permit, and still the same “operation not permitted”.
Can it be something in Kodi that blocks me? I do get in with my older eGreat.player.

So the ip address of the vero is added to the share on your nas as in the example?

Check out this article as well…

Let me check again.

Yep, it’s there.

When I try with Samba and reach the catalogs on the NAS, I can’t click on them, nothing happens. The only thing I can do is abort or back out.

you could try follow this guide.

works both for Samba or NFS.

there are also reports about passwords file:

ther might be old information in your passwords.xml

SPNEGO login failed: The attempted logon is invalid. This is either due to a bad username or authentication information.

You could try rm /home/osmc/.kodi/userdata/passwords.xml and then try to connect again but be carefull if you use this file and info in ot also for other area’s.

Check as well the SMB version on NAS and Vero, the need to be the same. SMB V1 is not secure anymore.

I’m sorry guys, but that is way beyond my knowledge. I’m glad if I can get Samba to work.
The question is why it don’t. I’ll se if I can remove any old passwords.