No fanart and cover art in "current playlist"

I’ve a raspberry pi running OSMC (recently updated to Kodi 16.0 21 Feb 2016 compile date). The music source is on an external 1TB usb HD given a fixed mount point via /etc/fstab. I’ve a few years experience using Kodi on other devices but this is a relatively recent (last few weeks) set up.

I’m using library mode for music and everything works fine apart from the fact that no (or at least very little) fanart or cover art appears on the track list when “current playlist” is selected from the left hand pull in menu. I tend to use party mode quite a bit and this is really the default screen I like to leave showing. Fanart and cover art show no problem everywhere else - e.g. fullscreen mode, and album, artist, songs lists - just not in the “current playlist” list.

On custom playlists there is some cover art that shows (but cover art only - no fanart). I thought it may be a caching issue and ran the texture cache maintenance utility (using texturecache.py c) but this made no difference.

I use kore to control kodi from my phone and can see all the expected fanart and cover art for the current playlist on there - but I used kore on this phone to control previous kodi installations on other devices so it may be that the art is already cached in some way on there. Anyway, I’m at a bit of a loss as to what to try next so any suggestions much appreciated.

I assume that is on the standard OSMC skin? Try another skin (e.g. confluence) to verify if you get fanart then.

Sorry - I realised not long after posting that I should have said what skin. All of the above applies to Confluence.