OpenVPN on Raspbmc

Hi,

I have a Model B Pi 1 running Raspbmc (Kodi 14.1). I want to install & configure OpenVPN to connect to my NAS remotely (from a different physical location). Ive read a few posts on other sites about installing OpenVPN on Kodi (such as OpenVPN for Kodi), so that shouldn’t be an issue.

Is there a way to configure Raspbmc to connect to my VPN on each boot? I am planning on saving my username/password to a file and referring to this in the OVPN config file, so it shouldnt need any manual interaction.

This is so that I can connect to the MySQL database & media sources serving my media content.

I am a relative newb on Linux, but am willing to learn. I am running OSMC on my Pi2, but am sticking to Raspbmc on my Pi 1’s until we get to RC on OSMC.

Thanks

Graeme

Hi Graeme,

you will need to put your config into /etc/openvpn and give it a specific name e.g. vpn.conf. OSMC is using systemctl to control the started services. So “systemctl start openvpn@vpn.service” should start your connection while “systemctl enable openvpn@vpn.service” would configure it as a boot time service. Before using systemctl you may want to use “openvpn --config /etc/openvpn/vpn.conf” to test your setup.

Cheers

Fred

Hi, (Alpha4 on pi 1 B)
I logged in through SSH and ran:

1. sudo bash
  2. apt-get install openvpn

but get Unable to locate package openvpn. Any suggestions as to what is needed to access openvpn repo ?.

P.S. This worked on raspbmc latest version (XBian_2015.02.28_rpi.img) and I was able to install Datho VPN. Also openvpn did not ask for credentials, instead the Datho add-on has a gui settings page where you can enter the server address and your password.

Best regards,
Nookdog

Thanks for your quick reply Frank, Ive got an error:

Tue Mar 10 18:18:06 2015 IMPORTANT: OpenVPN’s default port number is now 1194, based on an official port number assignment by IANA. OpenVPN 2.0-beta16 and earlier used 5000 as the default port.