OSMC 2017.07-1 incompatible with Hyperion?

So I have been using Hyperion with OSMC and Kodi for a few months with no real problem.
After the last Kodi update the system couldn’t boot anymore and showed a lot of ext-4-fs errors (journal interrupted):

So I thought that the SD Card is damaged. Removing it and trying to fix it on another system with fsck brought nothing. So I reinstalled everything using OSMC 2017.07-1 and it all worked - until I installed hyperion.

If hyperion is running - the system cannot boot, there are ext4-fs errors, connection vis SSH is impossible, the system is completely unresponsive. If I remove the SD card and delete the configuration file from /etc/hyperion, so that the service cannot start, everything works fine.

Once I put the json file back, everything crashes again.

I have not changed the json file since February. It seems that something makes hyperion incompatible with the new OSMC release… It worked fine with previous releases.

Any help would be much appreciated… Thank you!

P.S.: As the system is unresponsive and there is no way to connect via SSH I cannot generate an error report.

I doubt that there is any problem with Hyperion. Your SD Card is broken. Yes a reinstall of OSMC worked but that just means that certain parts of the card are working but doesn’t mean the whole card is ok.
If you want to test the card before you by a new one use a proper program that checks the card from A to Z

ok, but is still very suspicious that the system works perfectly with the hyperion service stopped and that it immediately crashes when I start the service. I would try it out directly with another SD card, just to be sure.

Can you suggest a good program to check the current SD Card?

Check this out

Or badblocks if you have a Linux system.

Ok. It’s officially not the SD card.

First of all, the current SD card had no errors:

icefire@asus-mint ~ $ sudo badblocks -v /dev/mmcblk0p1
[sudo] password for icefire: 
Checking blocks 0 to 248831