OSMC as immutable OS

I’ve been using Fedora Kinoite, an immutable OS, as my daily driver for more than a year now. It has been a far more stable experience than using mutable Linuxes.

As OSMC is meant to be an appliance OS, I imagine having it be immutable could bring many benefits.

Some pros of immutability (my experience with rpm-ostree):

• Offline updates are lightning quick.
  • if something breaks in an update, rolling back is super easy.
  • Since messing with the root filesystem is discouraged, tinkering and breakage happens less.
  • all base systems are identical, and if one isn’t, it’s easy to know how it’s different.

Some cons:

• no online updates, you need to reboot.
  • no dkms support.
  • tinkering and experimenting is more difficult

Bac when I was a newbie user of OSMC, the major reason for going OSMC instead of LE was getting access to a “whole linux” under the nice GUI. I mean I could even “accidently” move libc6.so, true I had to reimage, but I would not use OSMC if I couldn’t fiddle with the OS underneath.

I think i had about 6 Web service running at the same time as i watched a movie on my pi2. I could never install a github project on a immutable OS, on a whim.

But living on the “edge” like that means, I do backups before “Whimming it”. Know your system and know your selling point.

I definitely see your point, but I’d argue that toolboxes / distroboxes takes care of most usual tinkering scenarios. The charm then, is that you don’t need comprehensive backup strategies, and can experiment more freely, in a way, since no amount of tinkering in a toolbox will cause damage to the base OS.

I have Ubuntu, Arch and Fedora, each in separate distroboxes, and I can experiment and do basically everything short of modifying the kernel in the boxes. Accessing each distrobox’ graphical apps, binaries and services from the base system is easy, without disturbing the system itself.