OSMC basics

Just installed OSMC on a Raspi. Plugged in a USB hard drive with all my music… honestly guys, who’s in charge of this project? The user interface is a disaster! This thing is so unuserfriendly, it’s even hard to describe how bad it is without using bad language. Seriously, I see all these topics in the forum about all these advanced features that are on the table but you know what, I suggest you sort out the basics first. This thing is truly shocking. I am a very tech savvy person and I cannot use this thing, it’s so off putting… I just want to create some playlists based on the files and directories on my USB hard drive… what the hell.

Can I help at all? As a dev I think I can contribute but I wouldn’t know where to start…

That’d be me.

That old chestnut. I’ve something to complain about, I’d work on it (if I had time | if I knew how), I’m a developer in my day job which allows me to qualify this product as bad, despite the fact that I’m paid in my day job, and people working on this project aren’t.

Have you seen our new plans for an interface? We're designing a new look and feel for OSMC - OSMC.

Do you know you can change the skin in Settings → Appearance?

2 Likes

hi Sam,

I’ll have a look around and if possible download the sources. Happy to help…

You can grab the source from GitHub - osmc/osmc: OSMC (Open Source Media Center) is a free and open source media center distribution.

You need to explain what is ‘truly shocking’, ‘offputting’, a ‘disaster’, etc. What is so wrong? What can be improved? Perhaps you should make some suggestions first so we can pass it to the UX team.

What is your opinion on the new interface? Which skins work well for you?

1 Like

sure sure, will elaborate but it won’t be today since it’s getting late here… I’ll fire up the pi tomorrow and make some notes.