OSMC maintained Youtube integrated script/addon

What would the possibility of having an OSMC maintained youtube script/addon that can search both channels and videos and play videos? Nothing fancy, just outputs as a simple list.

The bromix youtube addon is in limbo last I read. It just would be nice to have an important part of internet streaming internally maintained.

You’re welcome to start/maintain it

I’m no coder. Hence this post. Besides, what is the point of this part of the forum (feature requests) if this is the default response?

Staffing at OSMC unfortunately does not facilitate building/supporting addons that already exist.

Hey Microsoft, small feature request for Excel, could you indefinitely maintain this 3rd party plug-in?

k?
tx
bye

I I don’t understand the benefit of having another YouTube add-on and I also don’t understand why you want this to come from OSMC. It is clearly a Kodi request. Makes absolutely no sense to have the OSMC devs abandon OSMC project to write an add-on for YouTube.

How I use YouTube: on my phone! 20x faster easier and more intuitive to navigate then anything you would have to control with a remote. For playback I simply use the “share” button and select “Play on Kodi” which is available via the (free) Yatse app. It takes 2 taps on your phone, really. You can even queue the next stream you want to watch. This has always worked flawlessly.

Absolutely no reason for a Kodi add-on dev to waste time on another add-on for YouTube. But why you are making this request here? Makes no sense.

1 Like

@zilexa Afaik this feature also bases on the youtube-app by bromix. So if this addon stops working, you have to watch the yt-video on your phone.

I also agree with you that this is rather a Kodi-related issue. Cause yt is so essential for many it should be a core-feature in Kodi imho.