OSMC on Vero V DHCP attributes?

This may be an obscure question and I have resolved the issue but the behavior has me asking the questions. I noticed on one of my Vero Vs since upgrading from the Vero 4K+ that my weekly backups were failing. After some troubleshooting I found out that shortname resolution to my backup server (server2) was failing. If I added my local domain (since I run my own DNS servers) it worked (i.e. ping server2.mydomain.com). I am pretty sure this worked previously on the Vero 4K+.

I ended up adding “search mydomain.com” to the resolv.conf file which resolved the issue but it made me wonder why OSMC isn’t taking this from my DHCP server, which hands out the domain name ? I am not a Debian expert but I just built an Ubuntu 22.0.4.3 VM today and it worked perfectly and automatically updated the resolv.conf file from the DHCP data.

Should OSMC on a Vero V honor the domain name data from DHCP ? The manual search addition worked on all 3 of my Vero Vs.

Thanks,

Jeff

This is unchanged from Vero 4K+ however I did recently (ish) re-enable DNS proving so maybe that’s not picking things up.

Check /etc/osmc/connman.prefs for differences on the working vs problematic systems.

I’ll have to reconnect a Vero 4K+ to see if they actually exhibit this behavior. I can do that tomorrow. Thee is no file named connman.prefs in the /etc/osmc/ folder.

osmc@Kodi-Florida:/etc/osmc$ ls -la
total 16
drwxr-xr-x 4 root root 4096 Aug 7 11:24 .
drwxr-xr-x 74 root root 4096 Dec 24 14:07 …
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Aug 7 11:24 apps.d
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Aug 7 11:22 prefs.d

Jeff

Check under prefs.d— it’s probably called ConnMan. I’m not near a computer until tomorrow evening.

Not there either. This is not urgent at all so don’t worry about it. I have it working with the search addition to resolv.conf. I just found the behavior odd and wanted to raise it for awareness.

osmc@Kodi-Florida:~/.kodi/temp$ cd /etc/osmc/prefs.d